stories in and

Against The Stars

Against The Stars by Christopher Hartland

When an attempt to kiss his best friend becomes a prom night disaster, Elliot Dove’s confusion surrounding his sexuality is thrown into overdrive. Desperate for some clarity, Elliot turns to GlimpseTech, a company offering all over-sixteens a 44-second glimpse of what lies ahead. But Elliot’s Glimpse only makes him more confused, showing him in an intimate moment with Sebastian Glass, the ‘one gay kid’ in his year at school. Seb, meanwhile, hates Glimpses, and blames the technology for his dad’s absence. But unlike the protesters picket-lining GlimpseTech headquarters, Seb has other things to worry about, like his mum’s depression and the man showing up at his house demanding money. Then he bumps into Elliot, and bumps into him again, until it seems the universe is pulling them together. Despite the vast differences in their lives, Elliot and Seb find something they were missing in each other, and soon friendship blooms into something more. But tensions are growing in the outside world. Rumors of the so-called ‘Last Day’––the day beyond which no one has seen in their Glimpse––are causing widespread panic. With the end of the world an increasingly real prospect, a seemingly uncrossable class divide, and the secret of Elliot’s Glimpse a ticking time bomb, the universe may have other plans for Elliot and Seb. Against The Stars is an exploration of class, love, and destiny, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera’s They Both Die At The End. This speculative, queer romance will have readers desperate to know how things turn out, but if given the choice, would you glimpse ahead? ​


Heavy Oceans

Heavy Oceans by Tyler Jones

"Gripping, visceral, and supremely unpredictable." - Nat Cassidy, author of Mary: An Awakening of Terror and Nestlings From Tyler Jones, author of MIDAS and BURN THE PLANS, one of Esquire’s Best Horror Books of 2022, comes a story of deep sea terror and cosmic horror. Struggling with the pressures of being a new father and the weight of regrets, Jamie Fletcher travels to Hawaii in hopes of connecting with his estranged brother, Eric. After a shocking act of violence, the brothers end up on a fishing boat--along with the captain and his son--in the middle of the ocean, where they encounter an uncanny and terrifying phenomenon that will signal a shift in the evolution of the world.


Never Steal from Dragons

Never Steal from Dragons by Patrick Dugan

Welcome to Hub! Just a few simple rules apply: 1. Never Steal from Dragons 2. See Rule #1 3. Never Work for Dragons In Hub, a city of treachery and deceit, Gelsey, a pixie, is one of the best thieves around. When a smash and grab assignment turns into a job interview with a powerful dragon, Gelsey finds herself a part of a crew including five more of the best criminals Hub has to offer. Her crew includes Silai, a con artist with a deadly secret. Kelthar, a mage who’s bent on self-destruction. Aikila, a smuggler set on avenging her father's murder. Nyx, a hacker coming off a busted run, and Lorcan, a mercenary whose child is being held hostage. The dragon pulls all their strings, forcing them to accept an impossible job: break into a fortress nobody in all of Hub’s long history has ever cracked. And if they fail, they’ll end up dead one way or another. A wild mix of fairy tale and Cyberpunk that hits all the marks of classic crime capers. Reads like Elmore Leonard and Neil Stephenson playing D&D in a pixie-infested bar and having the time of their lives way past last call. Kat Richardson, Bestselling author of the Greywalker novels Dugan weaves an excellent heist story by blending the fantasy, cyberpunk, and even noir genres. The world building is top notch, including the lore which uses familiar creatures, but in new ways. This is the book for you if you enjoy cyberpunk, urban fantasy, heist stories, or any combination thereof! Bishop O'Connell Author of American Faerie Tale series and Two-Gun Witch


Blood Fortune

Blood Fortune by Brock Rivers

SPSFC 2023

From a secret facility underneath the New Mexico desert, to the frozen moon of Enceladus in Saturn's rings, this historical science fiction thriller will entertain you from beginning to end. A year before the Spanish set foot on the Yucatán shores, a handful of the strongest Aztec were selected for an important mission. Led by their greatest warrior, they raced to escape with the empire’s gold. Over five hundred years later, the treasure they’d sworn to protect is found in a West Texas cave, putting anyone near it at great risk. In the future, no communications are private from the National Security Agency. A group of five must navigate the dangers that follow their discovery; the wrath of a biker gang, hellbent on revenge. A shadow government, wielding the power of highly trained soldiers and the unrelenting artificial intelligence of the world's smartest computer.


In The Garden Of Echo

In The Garden Of Echo by H.S. Wolfe

Echo and Ender have existed nearly as long as the earth itself. They’re hungry, in love, and indestructible. For centuries they’ve wandered across continents feeding from their favorite food source - humans. But the mess they’ve left in their wake starts their prey on the path of discovering that they are not what they seem. After being forced to curb their feeding and go into hiding, a tragic incident leads Echo and Ender to learn about what they are, and the power they are truly capable of. In The Garden Of Echo is an erotic botanical horror about two codependent monster of unknown origins born to torture the human race for their sins against the earth. Please see author's carrd for full TW's.


Electron Spin

Electron Spin by Qualia Reed

Can a rock band save the universe? After surviving everything the galaxy could throw at her over half a million years, the android Esmerelda did the only thing that made sense to her. She stole a state of the art, experimental starship with her best friend, and started a rock band. Together, they began to travel around the galaxy creating art and music while trying to move on from their respective pasts. When a strange couple beg for asylum after a gig, Esmerelda feels the galaxy pulling her back into a life of violence once again. She'd sworn to herself that she'd never go back to her life as an assassin, but when events threaten her new chosen family, Esmerelda must do what it takes to keep the people she loves safe.


Dark Theory

Dark Theory by Wick Welker

SPSFC 2022 SPSFC 2023

A robot yearns to remember. A thief struggles to forget. A galaxy on the verge of collapse. On the fringe of a broken civilization, a robot awakens with no memories and only one directive: find his creator. But in the village of Korthe, Beetro finds only radioactive pestilence, famine, and Miree—a tormented thief with dreams of retiring after her final score. Meanwhile, the fiefdom is plunged further into chaos when a new warlord seizes control, recasting serfs as refugees and leaving derelict robot peasants in his wake. With a shared interest in survival, Beetro and Miree team up to pull off an impossible castle heist: steal a single flake of dark matter, the world’s most valuable and mysterious ore. But as they trek through the feudal wasteland in search of answers, they realize the true extent of the chaos surrounding them: the stars are disappearing from the sky and the entire galaxy is unraveling. As he uncovers his origin, Beetro discovers he may be the key to the salvation of the cosmos—or its destruction. Time, space, and loyalty become relative as he learns the real reason he was created. A mind-bending science fiction epic with the bones of a fantasy traveling quest, Dark Theory unfolds through a journey of betrayal, identity, and unlikely friendships in a world of darkness set at the edge of space and time.


A Dream of Waking Life

A Dream of Waking Life by E. S. Fein

SPSFC 2022

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO UNDERSTAND THE NATURE OF YOUR EXISTENCE? HOW MUCH WOULD YOU SACRIFICE FOR LOVE? When Matthew Willish wakes up on a cold steel floor unsure of how he got there, he begins desperately searching for answers. What Matthew doesn't realize, however, is that this is only the beginning of a journey that will ultimately send him searching other worlds for the answer to numerous profound questions, the most pressing being: is he living in reality or in a dream? Or is he just an insane man who desperately needs help? A Dream of Waking Life is a philosophical and psychological thriller that tells the story of one man's journey through space, time, and mind to not only discover his true identity but also the love of his life—a woman who keeps slipping through his fingers and into another reality. A thought-provoking meditation on the thin line between what is real and what is not, A Dream of Waking Life will leave readers questioning how far they would go to understand the nature of their own existence and how much they would sacrifice for love.


A Small Gray Dot

A Small Gray Dot by P.B. Cannon

SPSFC 2022

It is the year 2047 and twenty-five-year-old Tennessee Murray has realized his ambition to teach and his dream of publishing a book. He is preparing to marry the love of his life and things couldn’t be better. Then one morning he steps out into foggy weather and finds the world has taken a turn for the extremely bad. In a matter of minutes, half the population of Earth dies in a horrible fashion. It’s not an ultimate war or biological disaster, and no oversized meteorite hit the planet or any other such catastrophe. It is sudden, it is deadly, and it is inexplicable. Seven and a half years later, Tennessee, now a tracker in a diminished world that is limping along, sets out to find a missing young woman and makes a discovery that sheds light on the longstanding mystery. He also learns that a finale is in store for the remaining peoples of Earth. Could the fate of the world hinge on the actions of an ex-middle school English teacher?


© 2024 Hakea Media | Terms | Privacy