stories in and

Fyskar: Book 1 of Legend of the Bai by Chapel Orahamm

1692 The Isle of Skye Eoin has returned as a plague doctor after ten years of banishment for revenge and a birthright. Fearchar and Seonaid have allowed the man to set up shop in their croft at the request of an old friend. The Plague Doctor is keeping secrets, though, and killing an entire clan is only the beginning. The void is waiting.


The Wife in the Attic by Rose Lerner

Goldengrove’s towers and twisted chimneys rose at the very edge of the peaceful Weald, a stone’s throw from the poisonous marshes and merciless waters of Rye Bay. Young Tabby Palethorp had been running wild there, ever since her mother grew too ill to leave her room. I was the perfect choice to give Tabby a good English education: thoroughly respectable and far too plain to tempt her lonely father, Sir Kit, to indiscretion. I knew better than to trust my new employer with the truth about my past. But knowing better couldn’t stop me from yearning for impossible things: to be Tabby’s mother, Sir Kit’s companion, Goldengrove’s new mistress. All that belonged to poor Lady Palethorp. Most of all, I burned to finally catch a glimpse of her. Surely she could tell me who had viciously defaced the exquisite guitar in the music room, why all the doors in the house were locked after dark, and whose footsteps I heard in the night…


The Last Roman: Exile by B.K. Greenwood

Some debts you cannot repay, even if you live forever... Seasoned imperial officer Marcus Sempronius Gracchus leads the 9th Roman Legion into a bloody battle against a fierce barbarian rival. It's a battle he won't survive. When he awakens three days later, clawing his way from a shallow grave, Marcus must face the reality of his new existence. He cannot be killed--but that won't stop him from dying time and again over the next 2,000 years. Meanwhile, others like Marcus plan to bring the world crashing to its knees. Can he prevent the inevitable and find redemption?


Storytellers by Bjørn Larssen

Would you murder your brothers to keep them from telling the truth about themselves? On a long, cold Icelandic night in March 1920, Gunnar, a hermit blacksmith, finds himself with an unwanted lodger – Sigurd, an injured stranger who offers a story from the past. But some stories, even those of an old man who can barely walk, are too dangerous to hear. They alter the listeners’ lives forever… by ending them. Others are keen on changing Gunnar’s life as well. Depending on who gets to tell his story, it might lead towards an unwanted marriage, an intervention, rejoining the Church, letting the elf drive him insane, or succumbing to the demons in his mind. Will he manage to write his own last chapter? Bjørn Larssen’s award-winning, Amazon #1 best selling novel is an otherworldly, emotive Icelandic saga – a story of love and loneliness, relief and suffering, hatred… and hope. Eric Hoffer Grand Prize Award – Finalist Readers’ Favorite Gold Medal – Historical Fiction


The Heiress in Kent by Gregory Kopp

A royal mystery that has intrigued generations on two continents is finally revealed! Amid the turbulence of a worldwide financial cataclysm threatening the British Government, a handsome Scotland Yard detective uncovers a secret plot to topple Queen Victoria from her throne! Based on a true story, this fast-paced book is set among the glitz and glamour of 19th century London, New York City and the fledgling 1860 presidential campaign of Abraham Lincoln. Enjoy the next exciting volume in the Kopp Chronicles powerful hit series.


A New Dream Arises by Gregory Kopp

In his most dangerous mission yet, Richard Cordwell, the handsome Scotland Yard detective, discovers another royal conspiracy! While the manhunt for the assassin of Abraham Lincoln absorbs a nation, a new president begins to wield the power of Reconstruction, as a dream of freedom arises above the devastation of a defeated Confederacy. Based on a true story, this exciting adventure is set among the capitals of Europe and Washington City, Scotland’s famous castles and the American South in the aftermath of the Civil War. Enjoy the next volume in the powerful Kopp Chronicles epic series.


Girl with a Gun: An Annie Oakley Mystery by Kari Bovée

Fifteen-year-old Annie Oakley is the sole supporter of her widowed mother and two siblings. An expert markswoman and independent spirit, she hunts game to sell to the local mercantile to make ends meet instead of accepting a marriage proposal that could solve all her problems. After a stunning performance in a shooting contest against the handsome and famous sharpshooter Frank Butler, Annie is offered a position in the renowned Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show. Finally, she has a chance to save the nearly foreclosed family farm and make her dreams come true. But then her Indian assistant is found dead in her tent, and Annie is dubious when the local coroner claims the death was due to natural causes. When another innocent is murdered, Annie begins to fear the deaths are related to her. And to make matters worse, her prized horse, Buck, a major part of her act, is stolen. Annie soon discovers that the solution to her problems lies buried in a padlocked Civil War trunk belonging to the show’s manager, Derence LeFleur. And so, with the help of a sassy, blue-blooded reporter, Annie sets out to find her horse, solve the murders, and clear her name.


The Storm over Paris by William Ian Grubman

The Storm Over Paris is a "dark, gripping historical thriller" with "evocative and frightening descriptions of life in Paris under Nazi rule." - Kirkus Reviews It's 1942 in Nazi-Occupied Paris. Mori Rothstein is a widely-respected, internationally-known art dealer, loving husband, and father. Mori's once-charmed life darkens when Hermann Goering – the head of the Nazi Gestapo and one of the most feared men alive – seeks out his expertise. Goering gives Mori a choice: appraise priceless pieces of art that will be deported to Hitler's new museum or risk his and his family's lives. As his friends and fellow Jews disappear one by one, Mori must decide what he will stand for and at what cost. With so much at stake, Mori and his son concoct a risky plan to save some of history's greatest pieces of art...but can it possibly work? And can Mori's family possibly survive the scrutiny of Goering and the horrors of Nazi occupation? Fans of Daniel Silva, Dan Brown, and John Grisham will fall in love with this gripping piece of World War II historical fiction. The action and intrigue makes this page-turner impossible to put down; the cast of characters make it impossible to forget.


The Paris Photo by Jane S Gabin

The Paris Photo compassionately conveys the story of American soldier Ben Gordon and his relationship with a young mother and her son just after the Liberation of Paris in August 1944. Despite the strength of this relationship during the war, Ben's eventual return to America separates them. Decades later, Ben's daughter stitches the relationship back together when she discovers a photograph of her late father with an unknown woman and boy. Eager to uncover more of her father's past, she travels to Paris to learn about the people in the photograph. The Paris Photo lifts characters out of the pages of a history book, richly depicting the human emotion that pervades our memories. The Paris Photo will appeal to lovers of historical fiction, particularly those with an interest in WWII. Jane S. Gabin creates a vivid picture of life in Paris during the dark days of the Nazi occupation, as well as a depiction of the contemporary city that still carries scars from the war. Interweaving mystery, romance, and historical research, The Paris Photo demonstrates how the traumas of wartime loss persist into the present.


© 2022 Hakea Media | Terms | Privacy